Contact

Please note we are closed for a major redevelopment. Staff will still be available by telephone or email to help with your enquiry.

Hatton Gallery
Kings Road
Newcastle University
Newcastle upon Tyne
NE1 7RU

Telephone: (0191) 278 8857

Textphone: 18001 0191 208 6059

General enquiries: info@hattongallery.org.uk


PRESS OFFICE


National Media enquiries:

Please contact Brera PR: pr@brera-london.com / 01702 216658 (Office). 

Tracy Jones: tracy@brera-london.com / 07887 514984 

Adam Jones: adam@brera-london.com / 07818 061503


Regional Media enquiries:

Please contact Rachel Bentham, Communications Officer,

Rachel.bentham@twmuseums.org.uk, tel: (0191) 277 2171


Curatorial enquiries - contact Rob Airey by telephone: (0191) 278 1611 or email: rob.airey@twmuseums.org.uk

Learning and schools: learning@hattongallery.org.uk. Find out more about our events for schools, families and adult learners.

Contact Hazel Barron-Cooper, Learning Officer by telephone (0191) 278 1611 or email: hazel.barron-cooper@twmuseums.org.uk

Volunteering: volunteering@twmuseums.org.uk. Find out more about volunteering with us.


​Specialist enquiries

We offer a paid-for research service to members of the public looking to find out more about items in our collections.

Our staff will undertake any specific research relating to the collections held by Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums, which comprise:

  • Archives
  • Fine Art
  • Decorative Art
  • Science and industry
  • Ethnography
  • Archaeology
  • Military history and social history
  • Maritime history
  • Natural sciences

The research service costs £30 per hour including VAT.

You can request and pay for your research online by completing our research form or you can visit our research page for more information.

Donations to the collection or bringing in items for identification

Please get in touch with us (via phone, email or letter) before bringing in your items to describe what you would like to offer, or what you need help with identifying. Send us a photograph if possible.

We’ll reply letting you know if your offer is something we can accept, if we need more information, if we cannot accept your offer or to arrange a time for you to bring your item in.

There are a variety of reasons that we may not be able to take your donation. We have a Collections Development Policy that we must use when making a decision.

Please note that unless there are compelling and legitimate reasons, hazardous objects and substances will not be accepted.

Location